top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRandy P. Orso

The Professor, the Lawyer and the Clergyman.

It was 1990-something and I was learning how to make websites in a non-credit bearing class at a small Catholic college in Vermont. I decided I'd make a web site page with my high school friends as a subject matter. Both Avi and Ben were at some very nice liberal arts colleges and I was proud of them. I decided to post a bit about them and a photograph. It wasn't really all that much more than that. At that point, who would have thought we'd be where we are now in such different worlds. I don't go back to high school reunions, and I don't keep in contact with everyone.

I am happy to embrace the life I have now. But back then I would have thought I'd always go for coffee with my friends and buy books at Borders in Kingston, MA. I just was in a groove that was right for me at the time.


I don't have those books I bought back then, and that bookstore isn't even in business anymore. I don't go out for coffee anymore during COVID-19, and I seldom leave the house for reasons of frivolity like that. I am here drinking my coffee and listening to Spotify. I suppose that those days are over and in quite a dramatic way.


Having heard from an old friend today, was nice, it recalled these memories of more socially active me. I suppose that was a heyday. I'm in a decline now.


I don't know when I'll return to being more social, if ever. I'm a hermit these days. Not entirely by choice. Circumstances being what they are.


Here's a cheers to the professor, and the lawyer, and the clergyman and the paths which brought us to these places.





10 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page