top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRandy P. Orso

Sounding Gay and Phone Banking!

This 2020 election I did some phone banking for Rep. Matt Cartwright and for the Home Health Care Union for which my Dad works. Both times I had a challenge like many Gay people I do sound Gay on the telephone and discrimination and hate is something from which I am not immune. I was criticized for my accent and told some rather hateful things, but I persisted until the last week when I took time off for my own well-being.


I was asked to reconsider but I stood firm that phone banking was probably not my strong point. I did blogging and shared political articles online and wrote letters and refocused my efforts. I feel content in my work that I did. I know how to refocus my efforts when resistance to my efforts is happening.


The election of Joe Biden and Kamala Harris comes as welcomed news and I am thrilled that Rep. Matt Cartwright (D-PA) won re-election as well. Living in a red county, I am aware that many disappointed Trump voters are in this area. I am hoping the elongated counting has given them time to adjust to the idea of a Biden presidency.


I have taken a ride out in the country and Biden and Trump signs still dot the landscape. At our home, my Dad is flying an American flag, we are all Americans. It is time to come together and heal the nation. I wish the American government all the success in dealing with COVID-19. I am praying for healing and I am hopeful for the future.


3 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page