top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureRandy P. Orso

The Night an Onion Took Over My Split Pea Soup

So I have been watching "Life in Squares" a miniseries by the British Broadcasting Company about the famed Bloomsbury Set a group of artists, poets, intellectuals, painters and writers of the 20th Century most notably including Virginia Woolf. While I was watching I decided to make some Split Pea Soup in the crock pot. We don't have any ham or bacon so I decided to slice up a rather large onion and throw it in with mixed vegetables and some frozen peas, minced garlic, and the split peas. It has been cooking away for hours and the whole house smells delightfully cozy on a chilly Winter's overnight.


We have begun a new series called "Lubin" based on the French novels about a so-called "gentleman burglar" . It is very good with a modern twist. So far just two episodes in but thankfully both Dad and I enjoy it very much.


I wrote a letter to my Aunt, another to a friend, chatted with my beloved and read a book on Andy Warhol's cats. It has been a nice afternoon, we went for a brief country drive to have a drive-thru cheap fast-food lunch and see the snow. Saw the local flag waving group in Hamlin corners, not sure exactly what that is about, but I waved back to them and they saluted. Somewhat concerned for them in this cold that they should be walking back and forth across a busy intersection.


So today was the day an onion overpowered my Split Pea Soup. Let us hope for more peaceful culinary creations in the future. The home is cozy and the crock pot is cooking. Lunch should be a hearty soup and grilled cheese with no need to venture out. Blessed Sunday to you all!


6 views0 comments
Post: Blog2_Post
bottom of page